Theory of a Deadman

Origin: Vancouver, British Columbia

Link: Facebook Twitter

Genres: Canadian Post-Grunge, Hard Rock, Rock

Share This Artist

Theory of a Deadman is a Canadian hard rock band from Delta, British Columbia, formed in 2001. The band is currently signed to Roadrunner Records as well as 604 Records. The band also includes traits of other music styles, such as country and acoustic, as well as their post-grunge and alternative rock base.

Theory of a Deadman became the first act to sign with Nickelback front man Chad Kroeger’s 604 Records imprint in 2001. Lead vocalist Tyler Connolly slipped a copy of the band’s demo (which would become the song “Invisible Man”) to Kroeger at a post-concert party and the two were soon collaborating on songs together. They released their eponymous debut album Theory of a Deadman on September 17, 2002. The name of the band comes from a song off their first album, whose lyrics describe a man preparing to commit suicide. That track was renamed to “The Last Song.” They won the 2003 Juno Award for “Best New Group of the Year.”

The band performed the theme song to World Wrestling Entertainment’s No Way Out 2006 pay-per-view, a cover version of “Deadly Game” from the WWE Anthology album. The song was released on the WWE Wreckless Intent album. They also did a cover of “No Chance In Hell”, the theme tune for WWE chairman Vince McMahon. In 2008, Theory of a Deadman released their third album, Scars & Souvenirs, and along with Hinder, they supported Mötley Crüe during the 2008/2009 tour. They also played at Crüe Fest 2. In 2011, Theory co-headlined the second annual Carnival of Madness Tour with Alter Bridge. The band contributed a new song, which was co-written with The Exies singer Scott Stevens, called “Head Above Water”, to the 2011 Transformers: Dark of the Moon soundtrack.

Savages  was released in 2014, with the witty & sardonic song “Blow,” and an accompanying video parodying the campfire scene in the movie The Three Amigos. Tyler Connolly, vocalist and guitarist of Theory Of A Deadman commented, “We went back to where we belong on this record, back to the angst, back to the darkness. We veered off the road a bit on this one but it took us right to where we needed to be.”

In 2015 the band released a 5 track acoustic EP titled Angel. Both the EP and Savages peaked on the Billboard 200 at number eight. Their latest album, Wake Up Call, was released in October 2017 with the lead single, “Rx (Medicate)” (a song addressing the opioid epidemic in Canada and the United States), reaching number one on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart.

K-ZAP 93.3 FM is playing “Straight Jacket,” another track from Wake Up Call and streaming it at K-ZAP.ORG/LISTEN/.


Tyler Connolly – lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitar (2001–present)
Dave Brenner – lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals (2001–present)
Dean Back – bass, backing vocals (2001–present)
Joey Dandeneau – drums, backing vocals (2009–present)


Theory of a Deadman (2002)
Gasoline (2005)
Scars & Souvenirs (2008)
The Truth Is… (2011)
Savages (2014)
Wake Up Call (2017)


Ref: wiki/Theory_of_a_Deadman