The Pretty Reckless

Origin: New York City, New York

Link: Facebook Twitter

Genres: alternative rock, Americana rock, Hard Rock, indie rock

Share This Artist


The Pretty Reckless is an American rock band from New York City, formed in 2009. The central performer is singer, rhythm guitarist and Gossip Girl actress Taylor Momsen, with Ben Phillips on lead guitar, Mark Damon on bass, and Jamie Perkins on drums, all of whom played in the band Famous in the early 2000s.

Their first EP was released on June 22, 2010, with mixed reactions. Rolling Stone magazine classified the sound as “generic.” It contained four songs, three of which are on their debut album. “Make Me Wanna Die,” “My Medicine,” and “Goin’ Down.”

The band released their debut studio album, Light Me Up, in August 2010. The first single “Make Me Wanna Die” was released with a viral video to promote the single.

In the beginning of September 2015, Momsen confirmed that the band was working on new material in the studio. Writing for the album began shortly after the completion of two years of touring in support of the band’s second studio album, Going to Hell (2014).

In 2016 supporting their third and newest album, Who You Selling For, the band launched a tour of the same name which kicked off in Tulsa, Oklahoma. During the tour, on May 17, 2017, the band opened for Soundgarden during lead vocalist Chris Cornell’s last performance, at the Fox Theater in Detroit, Michigan, before he committed suicide.

The Pretty Reckless paid tribute to Cornell by performing a cover version of Audioslave’s “Like a Stone” on May 20 at the Philadelphia radio station WMMR’s annual MMR-B-Q at BB&T Pavilion in Camden, New Jersey.

Listen to the Pretty Reckless song, “Back to the River,” on K-ZAP 93.3 FM and streaming on your device. Download our free app!


Light Me Up (2010)
Going To Hell (2014)
Who You Selling For (2016)